History of the English League Cup
Browse articles:
Auto Beauty Business Culture Dieting DIY Events Fashion Finance Food Freelancing Gardening Health Hobbies Home Internet Jobs Law Local Media Men's Health Mobile Nutrition Parenting Pets Pregnancy Products Psychology Real Estate Relationships Science Seniors Sports Technology Travel Wellness Women's Health
Browse companies:
Automotive Crafts, Hobbies & Gifts Department Stores Electronics & Wearables Fashion Food & Drink Health & Beauty Home & Garden Online Services & Software Sports & Outdoors Subscription Boxes Toys, Kids & Baby Travel & Events

History of the English League Cup

A history of the English League Cup from its beginnings to the present day.

The English League Cup is more commonly known as the Football League Cup and is operated by the Football League. Unlike the English FA Cup, only teams that play in the Premier League and the 3 football leagues, the Championship, League 1 and League 2 can play in this competition. The League Cup was introduced due to the infrastructure changes being made at football stadiums. More stadiums were installing floodlights and this meant that games could be played in the evenings during the winter. As a result, this tournament was set up to take advantage of being able to play these evening games. Just as the FA CUP, the winner of the League Cup also qualifies for the Europa League.

The Beginnings

Again, the format has largely stayed the same as the FA Cup since the League Cup's inception in the 1960-61 season. It differs from the FA Cup in that, the semi finals and final were played over 2 legs, one home and one away. There was one big change to the format of the League Cup, the two legged finals were changed to only one leg in 1967. When the League Cup first started many of the bigger teams refused to take part, it was only after automatic qualification for European competitions was introduced in the late 1960s that all teams started to take part in the English League Cup.

Name Changes!

Unlike only once in the history of the FA Cup has the name changed, but the League cup has changed its name 6 times since 1982, the 6 names were named after the sponsors; Milk Marketing Board, Littlewoods, Rumbelows, Coca-Cola, Worthington's and Carling. The League Cup is currently known as the Carling Cup.

Not the FA Cup

The history of the League Cup is not as long or prestigious as the FA Cup, this is due to a number of reasons: The FA Cup includes non-league teams and as a result giant killings are often remember more so than their League Cup counterparts. Moreover, the bigger teams usually field a weakened team meaning that giant killings happen all the more regularly.

Past Winners

1961 Aston Villa

1962 Norwich City

1963 Birmingham City

1964 Leicester City

1965 Chelsea

1966 West Bromwich Albion

1967 Queens Park Rangers

1968 Leeds United

1969 Swindon Town

1970 Manchester City

1971 Tottenham Hotspur

1972 Stoke City

1973 Tottenham Hotspur

1974 Wolverhampton Wanderers

1975 Aston Villa

1976 Manchester City

1977 Aston Villa

1978 Nottingham Forest

1979 Nottingham Forest

1980 Wolverhampton Wanderers

1981 Liverpool

1982 Liverpool

1983 Liverpool

1984 Liverpool

1985 Norwich City

1986 Oxford United

1987 Arsenal

1988 Luton Town

1989 Nottingham Forest

1990 Nottingham Forest

1991 Sheffield Wednesday

1992 Manchester United

1993 Arsenal

1994 Aston Villa

1995 Liverpool

1996 Aston Villa

1997 Leicester City

1998 Chelsea

1999 Tottenham Hotspur

2000 Leicester City

2001 Liverpool

2002 Blackburn Rovers

2003 Liverpool

2004 Middlesbrough

2005 Chelsea

2006 Manchester United

2007 Chelsea

2008 Tottenham Hotspur

2009 Manchester United

2010 Manchester United

Additional resources:

Need an answer?
Get insightful answers from community-recommended
in Soccer & Football on Knoji.
Would you recommend this author as an expert in Soccer & Football?
You have 0 recommendations remaining to grant today.
Comments (0)