Forgotten Tournaments Of Scottish Football: Texaco Cup and Anglo-Scottish Cup
Browse articles:
Auto Beauty Business Culture Dieting DIY Events Fashion Finance Food Freelancing Gardening Health Hobbies Home Internet Jobs Law Local Media Men's Health Mobile Nutrition Parenting Pets Pregnancy Products Psychology Real Estate Relationships Science Seniors Sports Technology Travel Wellness Women's Health
Browse companies:
Automotive Crafts, Hobbies & Gifts Department Stores Electronics & Wearables Fashion Food & Drink Health & Beauty Home & Garden Online Services & Software Sports & Outdoors Subscription Boxes Toys, Kids & Baby Travel & Events

Forgotten Tournaments Of Scottish Football: Texaco Cup and Anglo-Scottish Cup

A brief look at the history of both the Texaco Cup and the Anglo-Scottish Cup football tournaments that lasted from 1970 until 1981, where Scottish and English football teams would compete against each other, naming all of the winners of said tournaments and some interesting bits of trivia about the two Cups.

Certain football tournaments across the world have a longevity that goes back to the 19th century, other tournaments come and go within a matter of years and are soon forgotten. The 1970's saw two tournaments that came and within years - the Texaco Cup and the Anglo-Scottish Cup.

Texaco Cup

In season 1970/71 a new tournament was formed that would feature 6 English teams, 6 Scottish teams and 2 teams a piece from Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland, who had failed to qualify for Europe. The new tournament was sponsored by the American oil giants Texaco. The crowds attending the matches was nothing to really write home about, but the first year of the tournament was successful. One interesting note about one of the matches in the first year of the Texaco Cup happened when Scottish team Airdrieonians played the English team Nottingham Forest, the match ended in a draw and then became the first ever domestic game in the UK to be settled by a penalty shoot out, with Airdrieonians winning.The final of the tournament was played over two legs, home and away, and the two teams who battled out the inaugaral season were Wolverhampton Wanderers and Hearts Of Midlothian. Wolves won the first leg away by 3 goals to 1 and Hearts won the away leg by 1 goal to 0. On aggregate, Wolves won the first ever Texaco Cup 3-2.

The second season of the Texaco Cup, 1971/72 was the last time that teams from Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland would compete, in subsequent years, to make up the numbers, there was 9 teams from England and 7 teams from Scotland invited to compete. In the 1973/74 tournament the final was played as a one off match. In the last season of the Texaco Cup 16 English teams played a 'round-robin group stage' with the winners progressing to a knockout stage where they were joined by 4 Scottish teams.

Winners of the Texaco Cup

1970/71 Wolverhampton won 3-2 on aggregate against Heart of Midlothian

1971/72 Derby County won 2-1 on aggregate against Airdrieonians

1972/73 Ipswich Town won 4-2 on aggregate against Norwich City

1973/74 Newcastle United won 2-1 against Burnley

1974/75 Newcastle United won 3-1 on aggregate against Southampton

At the end of the 1974/75 tournament Texaco removed their sponsorship, but, with the tournament having been somewhat successful, it was decided to continue the format under a new name - the Anglo-Scottish Cup.

Anglo-Scottish Cup

For English clubs from the top league, more and more, as the 1970's progressed, their eyes were fixed on Europe (the top tournaments!) but for Scottish clubs, in the main, any competitive match against English opponents was a real test. In real terms, from the off, the Anglo-Scottish Cup meant more to the Scottish clubs than it did their English counterparts. In 1976/77, for example, Newcastle United were kicked out of the tournament for fielding a weakend team against Ayr United! As time went by in the Anglo-Scottish Cup more and more of the bigger English teams refused to participate and it was the lower league teams that took their place - and even though the Scottish clubs may have remained enthusiastic the fans did not and the attendances began to dwindle. The tournament rumbled on until season 1980/81 before the Scottish clubs pulled out ( an embarrassing Rangers 1-0 defeat by Chesterfield is better best forgoten).

Winners of the Anglo-Scottish Cup

1975/76 Middlesbrough won 1-0 on aggregate against Fulham

1976/77 Nottingham Forest won 5-1 on aggregate against Orient

1977/78 Bristol City won 3-2 on aggregate against St Mirren

1978/79 Burnley won 4-1 on aggregate against Oldham Athletic

1979/80 St Mirren won 5-1 on aggregate against Bristol City

1980/81 Chetserfield won 2-1 on aggregate against Notts County

When the Scottish clubs pulled out after season 1980/81, the tournament was continued in England but renamed as the Football League Group Cup, a forerunner to the Football League Trophy. As a final reminder of the Texaco Cup and the Anglo-Scottish Cup, an attempt was made to bring it back as the Anglo-Scottish Challenge Cup in season 1987/88 when the holders of the English FA Cup and the Scottish FA Cup met for a two legged 'final'. The two teams that played were Coventry City and St Mirren. The first leg of the tie was played to a crowd that was so small that the idea was soon scrapped - so soon in fact that the second leg was never played, and with it died the dream of bringing back an Anglo-Scottish Cup.

Additional resources:

Need an answer?
Get insightful answers from community-recommended
in Soccer & Football on Knoji.
Would you recommend this author as an expert in Soccer & Football?
You have 0 recommendations remaining to grant today.
Comments (0)